My Ten Somethings for June

Hey friends!

Sorry this took so long. I was kidnapped and held against my will. More on that next week.

Welcome to my Somethings for June!

Something Old

One of my dear friends graduated last month. *wipes away tear* She’s getting old, I’m getting old, we’re all getting old! LIFE IS CAREENING TOWARD THE END!

I’m fine. I promise.

Anyway, congrats to her. 🙂 She’s going to do great at adult life.

Something Related to Writing

I finished Rook, so that’s good.

Edward was lazy and claimed he was too busy taking over the world to write a blog post for my tiny site. I told him I’d throw him off a cliff or make a snake bite him in a story.

He wants to sue me for blackmail.

Anyhow, I did not finish brainstorming and outlining Ridgeline, but I’m having tons of fun all the same. I know I promised this before, but I really will get a Ridgeline page up sometime.

In between maintaining my new website, working on Rook and Ridgeline, and recovering from Realm Makers.

Ha.

One a final note: I published a short story on Story Embers! Steady is about an immortal spirit guide and her troublesome charge. I’m pretty proud of it, even though it gave me a bit of trouble.

Something Related to Reading

In summary, I started a few books and finished none, Including The Count of Monte Cristo.

*hangs head in shame*

Something Cool (and Slightly Weird)

I gave blood with my dad last month. It was fun.

I can already feel you judging me for saying giving blood was enjoyable. But it really wasn’t that bad! All they did was shove a thick needle in my arm and siphon away the life-giving liquid running through my veins.

Anyway.

I at least enjoyed it. 😛

Something Relaxing

I quit my job, y’all.

Animal-watching opportunities, Realm Makers, and college loomed, so I decided to turn in my two-week notice before the end of June.

I regret nothing.

Something About Grass

I liked this picture, so here you go.

Grass (2).jpg

Something Painful (for My Wallet)

Sinking a few thousand dollars into a car right after I turned in my two-week notice at my job was the smartest thing I’ve ever done.

Sarcasm sarcasm.

Smart choices aside, I really love my new car. We’ve playfully dubbed it the Box.

Because it’s kinda boxy (no way). 

Something Thrilling (for a Cautious INFP, Anyway)

My last night at work was looooong. I clocked out late and got trapped behind a caravan of construction workers that moved about one mile an hour.

I hate passing people on the road, thanks to a lovely incident that may or may not have included a near head-on collision because I can’t judge distances. I didn’t want to repeat something like that, so I wasn’t about to pass three cars at night, no matter how slow they were going.

I used my ninja skills and slid onto a side road, then raced the crew to the next opening, hoping to pull onto the main road before they drove past my exit.

This is as daring as it gets, ladies and gents.

I did indeed beat them and would have given myself a gold star if I had one.

*bows*

Something Flipping Crazy

My sister got engaged.

I might have yelled. Loudly.

Yeah. My sister is getting married, and I’ll have a brother for the first time in my life.

I could probably say something sweet, like how happy I am for her, or that I think she chose the right guy, but I’m not. She already knows that.

And I’m still weirded out by the thought of her getting married.

Because it’s weird.

Hannah and Luke's Hands1 Black and White
I took this picture. I’m proud of it. Oh yeah, and I suppose it’s sorta sweet they are holding hands or whatever.

Something Awesome

Last month, my parents dropped me off with a bunch of strange people I’d never met before in the hopes they weren’t serial killers.

It was a fun weekend.

What I’m saying is, I was privileged to attend Story Ember’s first retreat last month and meet most of my SE family.

It was such an amazing experience that I can’t put it into words (I hope you see the irony in that). We talked about writerly things and discussed professional writerly business. We stayed up waaaay too late and had more fun that should be legal.

The experience pretty much blew my mind. Perhaps I’ll get to write about it more extensively, but for now, this will have to suffice.

Oh yeah. Turns out they weren’t serial killers.

Cool, right?

SE Fam
Most of my SE fam.

What about you? What were your Somethings for last month?

Enjoy your weekend!

-Gabrielle R. Pollack

My 10 Somethings for June

 

 

6 thoughts on “My Ten Somethings for June”

  1. I LOVE reading your Somethings!!

    I’m gonna have to agree with you on the giving blood thing. I tried it for the first time a few months ago. I was TERRIFIED at first (needles, ya know), but once they got it in my arm, it was actually really pleasant! And I’m helping people, too, so that’s a plus. I’m giving blood again next week! *claps hands excitedly*

    AWWWWWWE, look at you and your SE fam!!! I wanna meet you all! ❤ ❤

    Congrats on becoming a future sister-in-law!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thanks! 😀 You guys are the best.

      XD It is pretty nerve-wracking the first time. It’s awesome that you’re doing it again! 😀

      I want to meet you, too! I think we should have an SE conference someday. 😉

      Thank you! ❤

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.